The Recruitment Underground Blog

Career Skills, Training and Transitions

I Lost My Job or How to Never Have a Boss Again

Posted by jamesseetoo on June 22, 2009


People are saying this a lot these days as unemployment continues to rise.  Try saying “I Lost My Job” to yourself and see how it makes you feel.  I would say it’s unempowering to say the least.

But I think it all depends on how you look at it.  After all, if you rent an apartment, is it really yours?  I would say, having “lost my job” that it wasn’t really mine to begin with.  What is mine is my Career and in essence the job I lost was just another assignment in my Career.  Now it was a pretty long assignment and it was great while it lasted but now’s the time to move on to the next one, part of which is this blog. I am now free to accept other assignments and that’s a pretty exciting thing.

Let’s think about it differently. What if you treated your job as an assignment and your “boss” as your client?  Wouldn’t it be a good idea to develop other clients within a company?  By doing that you’ll be building your network and support base within an organization while adding value to your clients which will follow you as your continue on in your Career.  And you’ll be developing that Career, something you actually own.

So take a deep breath, close your eyes and let it out saying “I Lost My Job” while keeping in mind that it wasn’t yours to begin with.  How does it feel now?  I’ll bet it feels different, that there are a lot more possibilities out there for your next assignment rather than your next “job”.

When there are a lot of people out there with the same skills it’s the Inner Game that will make you stand out.

I look forward to hearing back from you in the comments section.

Remember, your skills are your job security.

Best,

James Seetoo

3 Responses to “I Lost My Job or How to Never Have a Boss Again”

  1. Another good post James. Personally I shy away from using words that are negative- things like “lost” mostly because when you lose something, subconsciously you’ll try to “find” it. A bad employment situation is one you should never repeat.

    We are indeed all in Sales on some level and it’s really the shady types of “salesmen” that conjure the image of of the snake oil dealers out there.

    In our generation we’ve seen that corporations don’t have great loyalty to their employees so adopting the model you discuss of viewing your employer as a client is wise indeed. So many people are lured into a false sense of security that the company they work for is some kind of family and that they will always be taken care of. Companies foster this family attitude myth to gain employee loyalty but if its reciprocal, count yourself very fortunate indeed. Your employer is concerned with the bottom line and when times get tough and a you or me attitude is adopted, who do you think will be out in the cold?

    As the economy deteriorates, companies are cutting back. croney-ism increases and morale declines.

    Each and every working person should adopt a sound business strategy with contingencies to take of themselves and their families. At best, creating a personal business plan will give you a road map and a sound assessment of what you’re skills, strengths and weaknesses. If you find yourself unemployed you can use this business plan as a tool to aid you in the next “project” of your life. At worst, you’ll have invested the time to look at the working landscape and see where you fit in and where you want to be. So to me, there’s no downside.

  2. Marco Pineda said

    Nicely written post. I’ll be looking forward to reading your new blog regularly.

  3. Andy Wileman said

    James,

    Nice work on the new blog. Having been someone who has “lost” their job a number of times, I think it’s the feeling of rejection, even if you hated you job, that often stings the most. Even if you are on your own because of an event that was not personalized to your work performance, but a change in the company beyond your control. It still is a feeling of, “we don’t want you here anymore” that can linger.

    For me, I cannot completely detach my emotions and ego from my work, so it’s hard to go into a role and not have something personally tied to the company, my coworkers, my boss, etc. Otherwise, I would become a corporate drone and lose any passion for the work I do on a daily basis.

    I think I’ve gotten of topic, so I will just say. Good job on these posts.

Leave a Reply

 
