The Recruitment Underground Blog

Career Skills, Training and Transitions

Are You Twit?

Posted by jamesseetoo on July 9, 2009


I am, kind of – and not necessarily in a good way. At least not yet.

I’ve only recently begun exploring Twitter, Facebook and the whole Social Media phenomenon that’s exploding all over the place. But then again, I rarely text and use IM so I’m behind the times and I admit it.

Still, I’m lucky because my sister, Joanna Seetoo (@joannaseetoo on Twitter) is an expert in Social Media Marketing. She’s a featured speaker at the San Diego Cool Twitter Conference World Tour and so I’ve entered the world of Social Media. Now a lot of this is for personal branding and marketing but as I see all of the interactivity and all of the possibilities of publicizing yourself out to people who never would have otherwise known you, there’s some downside to go with the opportunity.

First, LinkedIn, Twitter, Facebook and a whole slew of new social media sites are now very much part of the mainstream. So if you’re not at least getting involved with it you’re really handicapping yourself in your job search. I’ve done a lot of recruiting through LinkedIn and in return many candidates look me up on it if only to make sure that I’m for real. Hiring Managers and recruiters look at your profile to see if you might be the person they want to hire and as a professional, if you’re not at least on LinkedIn it’s like having a phone that only works some of the time.

Second, while sites like Twitter and Facebook can be a lot of fun and a great way to connect with people you’ve lost touch with you must remember to be very aware of what you put in your profile. I remember a candidate who had accepted an offer a great job that really matched everything he was looking for. Then out of curiosity the Hiring Manager looked this person up on a Social Media site and saw pictures of that candidate smoking pot. Needless to say the offer was rescinded as soon as possible.

What it comes down to is that Social Media has become another facet of your personal branding and like your resume everything has to be directed to delivering a congruent message about you. I’ve even seen people starting to build online resumes that are like a hybrid between your resume and your Facebook profile. I’m not sure it’s necessarily a good idea though as it seems to be another thing to manage but since it’s early in the game it might eventually catch on.

I don’t know about you, but I think everyone has seen or heard of an email that went out to the wrong people, which happens when people do a lot of “reply all”. Let’s be honest, when we see that recall message we always open the email to see what’s in there. So imagine that happening on a global scale if you have the wrong thing on your profile.

If you really enjoy the social aspect of this new outlet I would suggest that you have separate personal and professional pages and profiles. You can share your personal one with your close circle of friends and your public one with everyone else. By doing that you can take control of your on line reputation. All of these profiles are now part of your personal branding so you have to protect it.

So follow me on Twitter (@jamesseetoo) and join my The Recruitment Underground Fan Page on Facebook and send me a LinkedIn invitation (jmseetoo@gmail.com). Nothing on those sites has anything I would be afraid to show to my mother. Of course, she’s not really on the internet, but you get the point.

And I’ll continue to learn more about Social Media Marketing. I’m pretty good on LinkedIn and I can tell you that it’s become a much, much more important tools for recruiters. It doesn’t replace your resume but in many ways it’s replacing the big job boards. Make sure you get as many recommendations as possible. I like to see them and it gives me an idea of who likes your work. Besides, as a recruiter, I go where the people are and this is where the action is.

As for Facebook, I’ve had several people contact me that way for help in finding a job and I’m always happy to help. Shakespear said “All the world’s a stage and we’re all players on it” and he was right but now it’s broadcast live 24/7. That’s the great thing about this phenomenon and the possible dangers of it so I’m looking forward to exploring it more. Twitter has tremendous possibilities but I think I’m still a Twit and not a Tweeter – yet.

Remember, your skills are your job security.

Best,
James Seetoo

yiwtrfzd9j

Add to Technorati Favorites

3 Responses to “Are You Twit?”

  1. […] Read the original post: Are You Twit? « The Recruitment Underground Blog […]

  2. joannaseetoodesigns said

    Thank you James!
    Very kind of you. I see Social Media as an excellent way to raise the level of awareness for your brand, whether its your personal or business brand.
    Twitter is also most effective for information sharing. I heard about the recent wave of celebrity passings through Twitter before traditional news outlets. Kept up with the Iran Elections as well through Twitter when journalists were excluded.
    You can achieve many of your PR and Marketing goals using Social Media but as you wisely pointed out-you have to be focused and consistent in your approach. I’ve helped several businesses and individuals with their Social Media work with great results and I’m happy to consult with anyone who’s interested in learning more. You can find me at Twitter @joannaseetoo or on LinkedIn – Joanna Seetoo Schiele.
    If you’re in San Diego, I welcome you to join me and a number of Southern California’s top Social Media mavens at the Cool Twitter Conference on July 15th. http://cooltwitterconferences.com/ As of now I’m scheduled to kick the conference back in after the delicious lunch that Ingrid Croce is providing 🙂

  3. […] Someone I’ve heard of added an interesting post on Are You Twit? The Recruitment Underground BlogHere’s a small excerptThen out of curiosity the Hiring Manager looked this person up on a Social Media site and saw pictures of that candidate smoking pot. Needless to say the offer was rescinded as soon as possible. What it comes down to is that Social … […]

Leave a Reply

 
