The Recruitment Underground Blog

Career Skills, Training and Transitions

Spam Spam Spam Spam

Posted by jamesseetoo on August 11, 2009


I opened my email the other day and saw an email from James Oliver that said “Job Offer”.  You mean the British TV Chef?  Sure, I’ll open it – why not?  I like to cook.  I’ve seen him train kids.  Maybe it’s time for a new career.

Well it says they’re looking for someone with accounts payable and accounts receivable experience.  Not exactly my forte but hey, maybe I can get an autographed cookbook or something.

So I clicked on the link and it took me to a job board.  A job board!

It wasn’t from James “Jamie” Oliver at all.  No glamorous cooking career for me.  No autographed cookbook.

Where did these people get my email address? I can honestly say I’ve only applied on line for one job.

Then I got another email titled “A Great Opportunity in your profession has found you”.  Recruiter?  Blogger? Okay, I’ll take a look.

Somehow a recruiter with Comcast Cable Western Division thinks I would be a great Residential Account Executive – in San Jose.  That’s commutable from San Diego.  And the email came from a “recruiter”, no name but still a “recruiter”. So what would I do in this job?

Well, it’s door to door sales for Comcast.

Ah, I see.  Well, I did say that we’re all in sales.  But realistically, I haven’t done door to door sales since trick or treating for UNICEF.  And I think the costume really helped then but I don’t think Comcast let’s you wear one. But how did they know?  I mean, it’s not like that gig was on my resume.

So who are they trying to attract with these jobs?  I mean, is that how people see me?

I think these are aimed at people who are desperate and willing to try anything.  I put them into the same category as “recruiters” who charge candidates a fee for service.  In other words, crap.  Stay away from them, delete immediately and don’t click on their links.  No, they’re probably not viruses they’re worse – they’re permission for more spam.

I think it’s important to keep in mind that there are a lot of people out there trying to take advantage of you.  Make sure that any offer you get makes sense.  Do these people know you?  Have they read your resume?  Are they offering millions of dollars from Nigeria if you’ll only send your bank account information?

But when things seem bad, these types of things sound like they might be a possibility.  They’re not.  Do yourself a favor.  Stand in the sun, throw your arms and head back and smile wide even if you don’t feel like smiling.  You’ll feel better and when you look at these things you’ll see that they’re just like any other spam – destined for the trash.

And if they’re not, then maybe I do need a new career.  Maybe cooking with Spam – after all it’s one of the most popular foods in Hawaii.  Spam Musubi – maybe I should email Jamie Oliver and suggest that he add it to the menu? Food Network here I come.

Remember, your skills are your job security.

Best,

James Seetoo

Featured in Alltop

yiwtrfzd9j

Add to Technorati Favorites

Leave a Reply

 
